Bookmark :
Skip to : [Content] [Navigation]

Board of Directors

The Board endorses a professional and robust approach to governance within the Group which reinforces its commitment to best practices. 

  • Boas Seruwe

    Independent Non-executive Chairman
    Appointed 1 April 2017

    Mr Seruwe holds BCom Accounting and MBA degrees and is the executive chairman of AFGRI Poultry. He is also a member of the board of the Unemployment Insurance Fund (“UIF”) and the chairman of the investment and financial advisory committees of the UIF. Mr Seruwe has held senior appointments at the National Treasury, Department of Public Works and PricewaterhouseCoopers and is a former commissioner of the UIF.  

  • Ignatius Simon Sehoole

    Independent Non-executive Director
    Appointed: 12 July 2013
    Chairman of the Investment Committee and member of the Remuneration Committee and Social and Ethics Committee

    Mr Sehoole is a chartered accountant by qualification. He serves on the boards of Harith Fund Managers (Proprietary) Limited, the Specialist Committee on Company Law and the Accounting Standards Board. Previously he was a member of the King Committee on Corporate Governance, a president of the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants and the chairman of the audit committee of the National Treasury.

  • Thuto Masasa

    Independent Non-executive Director
    Appointed: 1 April 2017

    Ms Thuto Masasa is a chartered accountant with extensive experience established over 10 years working in commerce, assurance and corporate advisory services in London and South Africa. Ms Masasa is a partner at Nkonki Incorporated were she is the Head of External Audit Services. She holds a non-executive directorship at the Mpumalanga Economic Growth Agency and is a member of audit and risk, loans and finance committees of the South African Institute of International Affairs. Ms Masasa is also a member of the finance committee of the National Council of the South African Institute of International Affairs. 

  • Patrick Mngconkola

    Independent Non-executive Director
    Appointed: 1 April 2017

    Mr Patrick Mngconkola holds BTech (Business Administration) and Human Resource Management degrees and is a deputy director at the South African Police Service. Mr Mngconkola is also a member of the boards of the V&A Waterfront and Growth Point Properties Limited.   

  • Dr Thabo Kgogo 

    Chief Executive Officer 
    Appointed: 1 June 2014

    Dr Thabo Kgogo has more than 13 years’ experience in the oil and gas industry with expertise in appraisal, development and production projects in upstream operations. He joined Efora from PetroSA where he held the positions of Vice President: Operations and Acting Chief Operating Officer. Dr Kgogo was responsible for PetroSA’s integrated operations, which included offshore production wells and platforms, Gas-to-Liquid (“GTL”) refinery, and shipping and aviation services. Dr Kgogo holds a B.Sc degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Cape Town, a M.Sc degree in Petroleum Engineering from the University of London and a Ph.D degree in Petroleum Engineering from Imperial College London.

  • Damain Matroos 

    Chief Financial Officer
    Appointed: 1 February 2015

    Damain Matroos has over 15 years’ experience in corporate finance both in the United Kingdom and more recently in South Africa. He joined Efora from Sasol where he held the position of Vice President: Corporate Finance, responsible for mergers and acquisitions, and specialised funding for the Sasol Group. He played a significant corporate finance role on a number of Sasol’s major capital projects, including its mining, Gas-to-Liquid refinery and upstream activities. He holds a B.Com (Accounting) degree and Post Graduate Diploma in Accounting from the University of Cape Town and is a qualified chartered accountant.